Eastern Caribbean: NCSC Supports Juvenile Justice Reform Initiative

In March 2014, the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) engaged NCSC experts to implement juvenile justice programs in six OECS Member States—Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. NCSC will develop National Training Plans and deliver training to improve juvenile justice court capacity, facilities management, and social support service delivery. NCSC will also develop a Regional Policy Framework and model diversion programs to address immediate, intermediate, and residential sanctions for juvenile offenders. Based on the Framework and model programs, NCSC will assist individual Member States in developing their own national diversion programs. NCSC’s work with the OECS is funded by USAID.